Navigation
Home Page

SnapMaps - What you Need to Know

The BBC recently flagged up a new app from the makers of Snap Chat, called Snap Maps. Please take a moment to read our findings and look at the link to the BBC article to provide additional information.

 

Snap Maps use a device’s location information to locate a user on a virtual map. A user is represented by a bitmoji- also known as an avatar- on the map at their precise location. Street names and buildings are visible. When using Snap Maps for the first time, users are prompted by Snapchat to “Allow Snapchat to access location information”. Next the user is prompted to choose the people they would like to see their location on the map. The options include: My friends, Only me (‘Ghost Mode’), or Selected friends. Dependent on the settings chosen, a user’s precise location will be visible to their selected audience on Snapchat. It is important that young people understand exactly who can see their location on Snap Maps. Allowing all Snapchat friends (some of whom may be strangers) to see this information can present a risk to young people, as they will be able to see their exact location in real time. Have a conversation with your child about what they do online, who they share their location with, and ways to keep themselves safe. If they are meeting a friend in a busy place, encourage them to use a private message app or text to share personal information like location.

 

What does Snapchat say?

 

In a statement, Snap said: "The safety of our community is very important to us and we want to make sure that all Snapchatters, parents and educators have accurate information about how the Snap Map works."

The company stressed that location sharing on Snap Map was off by default, was an opt-in feature and could be switched off at any time.

 

Please click on the link to read the full article.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-40509281


Top